The Power of Positivity

I like to think of myself as a pretty positive person, but I’m also human, and negativity can easily take me by surprise and turn my world upside down.  I truly have a crazy amount of energy for the amount of work I’ve been doing, and the lack of sleep I’ve been getting.  There’s this adrenaline that just seems to pump through my veins at the moment.  It’s a euphoric feeling.

That being said, I feel almost invincible.  Unfortunately, that puts me in a pretty vulnerable spot. More so than I had expected.

I want my name out there.  I want people to know that our shop will be opening and that they will want to be a part of it.  And so… the marketing begins.  Facebook, Instagram, blogging, website, Twitter… you name it, I’ve got it or am working hard on getting it set up.  I’ve been blasting as much info into the internet world as I can, and even the smallest interest has me smiling ear to ear and thirsty for more.

So I put together a small Facebook post for a mom’s group I was a part of.  I read the guidelines carefully and it did state self promotion of a business was not allowed, but then mentioned that selling of kids and maternity items was okay.  There’s a gray line, so why not try.  Denied.  They erased it, and sent me a message explaining why.

Blood boiling.

Instant rage.  How could they?  I’m not trying to harm anyone.  I’m working on building a shop that benefits everyone who enters its doors.  I’m allowing for families to earn money off their children’s items.  Couldn’t they see that?

Mark… Are you kidding me?!?!  What’s their problem? I’m writing them back.. this is ridiculous.

At that very moment, I receive a message from a friend’s mom, who also happens to own a small business in Mount Prospect

Just invited 100 contacts to like your page. Might see an uptick.

The power of positivity.  I took a deep breathe, and took a moment to take a wider view of the scenario.

So what, you got denied at one of the many different marketing places you tried.  Not everyone is going to accept you with open arms.  And that’s okay.  In fact, it makes you tougher, and you learn from it. I’ve got an insane support network.  I feel like opening a store should be a scary venture, but there’s not a moment yet that I’ve been truly scared.  This feels right.

I want to end with this quote that I absolutely love from Amy Poehler:

amy poehler

Leave a Reply

